Family History

I’m not gonna lie. For me, this image is all emotional. I mean… it’s composed well, but what makes it powerful is what it means to me. That stone… that is my great grandfather. He went to France in World War II and never came home.

This was one of our last trips in Europe because I insisted that I needed to see this. Not that it was twisting my hubby’s arm that much… he loves military history and he wanted to walk the beach and museums. To a certain extent, it was a learning experience… we learned a lot more about what happened to the war, and by extension to my grandfather then I ever knew before.

But I wanted to see this marker, that only one other couple in my family has ever seen. I wanted to feel this connection to a grandfather that I never met… and let me tell you… I felt it. It is so much more powerful when you are looking at your own family. I had all of this emotion… all of this love and heartbreak for a man who was dead long before I was every born. Before my parents were born. It’s humbling almost. You feel like time has stolen something from you. All of those years… what would he have been like? Would he be happy? Would he be proud that I am his granddaughter? What stories would he have told? I found myself overwhelmed with all of these thoughts and feelings… and I could not have been prouder to be standing there. As much as it hurts… I am a product of that noble and ultimate sacrifice.

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel T4i

Lens: 18-135 mm IS STM

Date: November 2013

Location: Normandy, France

IMG_9966

“It was one of those rare times when remembering the dead was more important than tending to the needs of the living.” ― Dean Koontz

One thought on “Family History

Leave a Reply

