Tradition

We explored many of the soldier cemeteries while in Normandy. My husband is military, and his family has a rich tradition going back years and years of people in my military. Though I am not, my family also has a number of military members. I spent a long time trying to capture strength and essence in the graveyards while simultaneously being completely overwhelmed by the sheer magnitude of the sacrifice around me. Those people who never got to go home.

I took this picture, but it wasn’t until later that I felt something strong about it. My husband was the one who said it. He commented on how cool it was I captured the stone on the Jewish grave marker. It is apparently an ancient tradition for Jewish families to leave stones instead of flowers. There are many interpretations as to why, but I think the more moving statement is that flowers, though colorful and beautiful, eventually die. The stone does not… it can symbolize memory or legacy.. and that is what makes it so special.

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel T4i

Lens: 18-135 mm IS STM

Date: November 2013

Location: Normandy, France

IMG_9724

“As long as we live, they too will live; for they are now are a part of us; as we remember them.” – Jewish Prayer

Leave a Reply

