Dark Past

I cannot tell you how much my husband and I loved Edinburgh. Really… I just loved everything about it. My favorite thing about it was the crazy history. There was so many wonderfully horrid stories that chilled my bones and made my hair stand on end. And I love that.

This building in particular is the White Hart Inn. We ate there… it was fabulous. However, it has a dark past that I found really interesting. The inn was originally put up in the 16th century as part of the Grassmarket. The square of the Grassmarket was the site of many hangings in Edinburgh’s history. It was also the bar where infamous serial killers Burke and Hare would lure their victims out. These two men killed 16 people and sold their bodies to a Doctor Robert Knox as cadavers. This was during the time of medical advancement where there was always a need for fresh bodies in the universities for study. The killers were eventually convicted and killed for their crimes. It is amazing to think that this beautiful little pub was once part of the deadly scheme. It just reminds me how history can really come alive in old gorgeous cities like Edinburgh.

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel T4i

Lens: 18-135 mm IS STM

Date: August 2013

Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

IMG_4740

“Edinburgh is a great big black bastard of a city where there are ghosts of all kinds.” ― Sara Sheridan

Leave a Reply

