Happily Ever After

Hello All,

It has been quite a hiatus for me. I know. Here it is March. It has become 2014 since I last posted. However, in my defense, there has been two shows, one very long flight back to the states, two Christmases in two different states, a PCS move to a brand new state, a new house, three job interviews, a new kitten, 7 dance lessons in a new studio, three shipments of our things from Germany, seven lost boxes, one awesome visit from my dad, and two days of trying to write lesson plans. Yeah… so there is a lot.

Anyway, it is really important to me to get back to this, and I am super excited to do so. And to start off this new batch of images, I thought I would go with one from back home in Germany. This is the road to the castle Burg Eltz. It is a medieval castle, hidden back in the largely untouched hills between Koblenz and Tier.  It is one of the few castles in Germany that has never been destroyed.

My impression of this castle, and what I tried to capture in this image was the feeling of walking into a fairy tale. This castle is much less commercial then some of the others we visited, and it took a while to find it. The remote location just added to the ambiance for me. It made it very easy to separate “real life” from fiction.

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel T4i

Lens: 18-135 mm IS STM

Date: October 2013

Location: Wierschem, Germany

IMG_5647

“If you want your children to be intelligent, read them fairy tales. If you want them to be more intelligent, read them more fairy tales.” 
― Albert Einstein

Leave a Reply

