The Gravemarker

It’s a funny thing, shooting in a cemetery. I have often wondered if that made me strange or disrespectful somehow, because it really is one of my favorite places to shoot. It’s just really easy to make emotionally charged images, the kinds of pictures that pull on the heartstrings of others.

I think, as I look at this image I’m uploading today, that may this isn’t disrespectful at all. Maybe this is my way of showing that I remember them and what they gave up. Maybe it’s my way of giving them a legacy.

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel T4i

Lens: 18-135 mm IS STM

Date: January 2013

Location: Andersonville, Georgia

IMG_0399

“Cemeteries are full of unfulfilled dreams… countless echoes of ‘could have’ and ‘should have’… countless books unwritten… countless songs unsung… I want to live my life in such a way that when my body is laid to rest, it will be a well needed rest from a life well lived, a song well sung, a book well written, opportunities well explored, and a love well expressed.” ― Steve Maraboli

Leave a Reply

