For Everything Sacrificed

Pretty much every country in the world has a military. I think that is one of the highest honors. I never served myself, but I have mentioned before (in both of my blogs) that I am married to a soldier, and also that I grew up in a military household.

Just recently, my dad retired after serving his country for 30 years. That’s a long time! This picture is from his retirement ceremony. The presentation and then folding of the flag is a big part of the ceremony, and I found that it really moved me. I was, and still am for that matter, filled to the brim with pride. I wanted to share that with you.

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel T4i

Lens: 18-135 mm IS STM

Date: January 2013

Location: Warner Robins, Georgia

IMG_0204

“…It is a proud privilege to be a soldier – a good soldier … [with] discipline, self-respect, pride in his unit and his country, a high sense of duty and obligation to comrades and to his superiors, and a self confidence born of demonstrated ability.” ― George S. Patton Jr.

2 thoughts on “For Everything Sacrificed

Leave a Reply

