Monument to the Dead

Well, we have officially reached the end of Greek Week. But didn’t it seem to go fast? I’m sure that more of my images from Greece will creep in now and again, but our whirlwind tour from my 10 day vacation there will stand on it’s own now. 🙂

Now, for this last picture, I decided to go back to Athens. It depicts an ancient grave marker in the Kerameikos cemetery. Now before you question why I’m randomly hanging out in graveyards, I do have a reason. I have mentioned before I believe that I studied Greek and Roman culture in my undergrad courses. I was thrilled and enthralled, and love the history  so much. Most of my upper level electives were actually these classics course. In one of them, I did a map and paper about the layout and contents of Kerameikos. Can you imagine the thrill for me, looking at these ruins I had studied for weeks, telling my husband about every stone because I had retained it all of these years? Yeah… it made it pretty magical.

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel T4i

Lens: 18-135 mm IS STM

Date: June 2013

Location: Athens, Greece

IMG_3204

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“A great city, whose image dwells in the memory of man, is the type of some great idea. Rome represents conquest; Faith hovers over the towers of Jerusalem; and Athens embodies the pre-eminent quality of the antique world, Art.” -Benjamin Disraeli

Leave a Reply

