Introducing…. GREEK WEEK

Hello! I am back from my super long hiatus from the blog here. I’m sure you can guess that my hubby and I were traveling again! This time we took a run through Greece, and a handful of places there.  YAY new pictures! However, I thought I would maybe like to try something a little different this time.

So for the next seven days, I am planning on featuring a whirlwind tour of our Greek Vacation for you guys and give you a little introduction on everything we had the great privilege of seeing. I thought it might be fun to try out a picture theme. If you guys seem to like it, I will try and continue to incorporate it into the blog a little more often. So… let’s get rolling.

This image comes from Athens, the capital city of Greece. It was the starting point of our trip, and I thought, therefore, and appropriate place to start. I also chose this image because it is from the most famous point in all of Athens: the Acropolis. Now… that is not to be confused with the Parthenon. That temple of Athena, the patron goddess of Athens, is located in this area, but the Acropolis refers to the entire flat topped rock that was used as an almost mini-city that overlooked the rest of the ancient city. Most of the remains that are there currently date to the the classical era, or roughly the 5th century BC. This picture in particular is from the Propylaea, the massive gateway and entrance into the rest of the Acropolis.

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel T4i

Lens: 18-135 mm IS STM

Date: June 2013

Location: Athens, Greece

IMG_2745

“I came to the Greeks early, and I found answers in them. Greece’s great men let all their acts turn on the immortality of the soul. We don’t really act as if we believed in the soul’s immortality and that’s why we are where we are today.” 
― Edith Hamilton

Leave a Reply

