Weaponry

I will be the first to admit it: I don’t know the first thing about ancient weaponry. I even looked up the name of this weapon, just to be sure I had it right. This shot is obviously an close up of the spiked ball at the end of a flail. It apparently was a really commonly used weapon during the middle ages in this part of the world. I, however, found myself really drawn to the shapes in created. The relatively un-threatening curve of the circle coupled with the heavy spikes turned it in a completely different way.

I really feel like the back and white suited the image to draw on that contrast of shape and light. The heavy black I think is my favorite part because I think it salutes the darkness of the middle ages.

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel T4i

Lens: 18-135 mm IS STM

Date: April 2013

Location: Prague, Czech Republic

IMG_1199

“The best weapon against an enemy is another enemy.” -Friedrich Nietzsche

Leave a Reply

