Part of Your World

I love this picture. Really. Truly. Though it could be the amount of time that I invested in getting it. I have about 10 different versions of it on my hard drive. The thing is when you are shooting nature, whether it be animals or water, timing is everything. You have to find the right rhythm, trust your instincts about when what you want to happen will. This was very true for this particular picture. I stood there for quite a while, getting a feel for the movement, and trying to time the strength of the current to get a strong splash.

However, as I look back on it, I still love everything about it. It was almost perfect from the time I took it; I hardly corrected it because the lighting was so nice and the crash of the wave was so sharp. It is truly the epitome of a photograph; It is one moment, captured in time, that will never ever happen just that way again.

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel XS

Lens: 15-55 mm IS

Date: July 2010

Location: Tybee Island, Georgia

293

“The sea is emotion incarnate. It loves, hates, and weeps. It defies all attempts to capture it with words and rejects all shackles. No matter what you say about it, there is always that which you can’t.” ―Christopher Paolini

Leave a Reply

