What’s in the Box?

Ok… so this image is maybe a little less about photography, and a little more about my feelings about the subject matter. It’s gotta happen once in a while I guess. 🙂

My husband and I went out to an antique store earlier this week. There was a piece that I had been watching for months: a darkly stained wine cabinet that I had fallen in love with. Of course, as we wandered through the extensive selection, we collected a few more items. One of my favorites is this chest. It is wood, plated with metal bars and rivets, and decorated with gear-like elements that gives me a steampunk kind of vibe. I just loved it so much I though I should share.

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel T4i

Lens: 18-135 mm IS STM

Date: April 2013

Location: Bad Windsheim, Germany

914033_10151348147656626_424725461_o

“Our admiration of the antique is not admiration of the old, but of the natural.” -Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

2 thoughts on “What’s in the Box?

  1. That is one fancy looking box. I can really appreciate the craftsmanship that went into it. All the wood and metal work look outstanding. I can also see the artist really took there time in using a single board for each row, giving uniformity to the design. You really found a gem there.

    • It is a great piece, isn’t it? I am wiling to admit that I don’t know the first thing about woodworking, and am not always very good at figuring out if something is “well-built” but even my husband was impressed when he was this one. I’m super excited to have it. 🙂 Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

