History at a Glance

I am a history buff from way back. In fact, my husband is too. But where he can tell you anything about the world wars (or the guns they used… or the planes they flew, etc.), my loves were a little bit farther back on the scale. I have already talked about on this blog my love for Egypt as a child, but I also had a particular place in my heart for the ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. This love went so deep that if someone were to look at my under-grad transcripts, they would see class after class of upper level Ancient Classics.

This is another thing that really appealed to me about London. They have huge cases in museums all over the city, filled with the artifacts that I had written papers about, or studied tirelessly into the night. When other people around dreamed only about finish college, or becoming reporters and tv personalities, I was caught up in the romance of finding something that someone hadn’t in a thousand years, and writing papers about the implication of Greek Myths on the way they lived at the time. Pretty Dorky huh?  This picture was just a realization of  me crossing another piece off of my bucket list; seeing these things that had sparked my imagination to it’s very end.

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel XS

Lens: 15-55 mm IS

Date: April 2012

Location: London, England

103

“The ancient Greeks have a knack of wrapping truths in myths.” -George Lloyd

 

2 thoughts on “History at a Glance

Leave a Reply

