Comfort Food

This picture is very simple; it is obviously a plate of spaghetti. However, I think the reason why I took it is what makes it compelling. Besides that fact this this is my FAVORITE meal, and my go-to food when I need a pick me up, it is all the first meal I made for my husband after we got married. I think what makes mine different is my always-homemade sauce. My momma taught me to NEVER by jarred sauce. 🙂

When my hubby was deployed, he sent me a message a few months into it saying that he missed my cooking, specifically my spaghetti and meatballs. Of course, there was nothing I could do… it’s not like I could have boxed it up and set it to him. So that night I made my signature meal, arranged it just the way he liked it (I even went and got the fresh parmesan cheese!), added some of my super yummy garlic cheesy bread, and took this picture to send back to him. It is the comforts of home, I think, that those soldiers really start to miss after a while. This picture was a little slice of it, the closest I could get for him, when all he had was chow. I think that it makes it special.

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel XS

Lens: 15-55 mm IS

Date: August 2012

Location: Bad Windsheim, Germany

IMG_8789

“Life is a combination of Magic and Pasta.” -Federico Fellini

 

Leave a Reply

