Lost Souls

When I was back in the states visiting family, we had the privilege of checking out a few museums. One of them was the National Prisoner of War Museum. The museum itself is very moving, telling the heartbreaking tale of prisoners of war throughout American history. As someone with strong military connections, it is definitely a topic that speaks to me personally. Back behind the museum was a series of battlefields, a cemetery  and this monument.

Now I took many shots of the monument, but this one was one of my favorites, You can’t see all of the other details behind it, but I particularly liked the expression on the statues face, and the way the light was hitting him. The red of the brick was strong, and the trees added a touch of wildness to it. I found myself wonder how accurately this statue represented the feelings of a POW. I feel like when I look at it now, there is definitely some truth to it.

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel T4i

Lens: 18-135 mm IS STM

Date: January 2013

Location: Andersonville, Georgia

IMG_0341

“To forgive is to set a prisoner free and discover that the prisoner was you.” -Lewis B. Smedes

Leave a Reply

