World Enough and Time

Well, it’s Valentine’s Day. Hope everyone’s excited. For me, it’s really just another day. My husband is still deployed. I’m still home. I worked out this morning. I’ll probably clean something when I’m done here. Then tonight I’m going sit at my dining room table and eat warmed up leftovers. I’ll watch a movie. Probably The Dark Knight. It’s been a while.

As you can see, nothing even remotely romantic on my horizon. I’m still stuck in the waiting game. That is kind of the reason I picked this picture today. It was in the last session of us I took before my hubby left, and I just really liked the composition. It has a lot of our personality in it, even though it doesn’t have our faces. You can see my little scars from my surgery. You can see one of my tattoos. You can see his camo. All of this tells stories about who we really are.  It’s kinda whimsy, or at the very least, it feels happy. I think that is what being in love is. Happy, even if your upset. I’m sad that he can’t be with me, but I’m still happy I have him. It’s about seeing the perfection in the little things. Even those scars made me who I am today, and I love who I because I get to be with him. Our life is beautiful. In fact, it is what got me on WordPress in the first place. My other blog, Batgirl and Green Lantern, is all about our life and our adventures as a military family.

If you are lucky enough to have loved ones around, tell them so. And at least hug them. You never know how many of us out here a wishing that we could have that… even just for a second. Happy Valentine’s Day everybody.

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel XS

Lens: 15-55 mm IS

Date: April 2012

Location: Bad Windsheim, Germany

121

“Long ago, men went to sea, and women waited for them, standing on the edge of the water, scanning the horizon for the tiny ship. Now I wait for Henry. He vanishes unwillingly, without warning. I wait for him. Each moment that I wait feels like a year, an eternity. Each moment is as slow and transparent as glass. Through each moment I can see infinite moments lined up, waiting. Why has he gone where I cannot follow?” —Audrey Niffenegger

Leave a Reply

