South of the Border

Does anyone else have cold, blustery weather out there? I was in process of making some soup in my crockpot today when I thought of this picture, and I knew it had to be the one for today. This was a first attempt at a crockpot Chicken Tortilla Soup that I tried out while I was waiting to join my husband in Germany. We were newly married, and I wanted to practice my chops in the kitchen so that when I got to be with him, I wouldn’t feel too uncomfortable trying to make dinner.

This soup, made with chicken breast, diced tomatoes, green chilies, an onion, and a variety of spices, topped with tortilla strips and cheese, warms you up right down to the bones. It was an variation of a recipe I found in one of my bridal shower gifts, and it was awesome. Likewise, it took a pretty picture as well.

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel XS

Lens: 15-55 mm IS

Date: September 2011

Location: Warner Robins, Georgia

IMG_6260

“If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world.” -J.R.R.Tolkien

Leave a Reply

