Bottoms Up

Another tactic that I worked on last year was shooting glass. I have often had trouble with this, especially before I really dived into the mechanics of actually understanding how the camera works. When I got my first Rebel, I worked a lot harder to understand how to use each setting, and what each one meant. As a result, I got better, but glass still eluded me.

When I was working on my 365 project last year, I did a whole day of shooting glass different ways, trying to get the perfect combination for a striking, dramatic picture. This picture was the one that made the cut for me. The wine glasses were a good choice to add depth, because I already had quite a few of them sitting around my house. I also love the high contrast being the white of the reflection and the black background.

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel XS

Lens: 15-55 mm IS

Date: January 2012

Location: Bad Windsheim, Germany

IMG_0345

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Don’t tell me the moon is shining; show me the glint of light on broken glass.” ―Anton Chekhov

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

