Little but Fierce

Good or Bad, I have definitely learned in the past few years that being a good photographer isn’t just about capturing the perfect shot anymore. It is about what you can do with a shot to make it interesting.

This is something that took root when I was in design school, and this year I have tried to amp up the volume. I have started doing photoshop tutorials, rereading textbooks from school, and practicing every day. Let me tell you; with this practice in place, I am quite literally learning something new every day. Sometimes the effects don’t turn out quite right. Sometimes you get a bad one that you can’t figure out. Sometimes you pick the completely wrong picture to work with! However, it is a learning process, and I’m happy to be along for the ride.  This image was one of my practice shots from yesterday. It shows my sweet niece with a tutorial I learned in a photography magazine. It is supposed to make the image look like a sketch. I was particularly happy with the way this turned out, and even added my on flair on at the end to try and make it look a little less finished.

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel T4i

Lens: 18-135 mm IS STM

Date: January 2013

Location: Dayton, Ohio

mckaylasketch“I love these little people; and it is not a slight thing when they, who are so fresh from God, love us.” ―Charles Dickens

Leave a Reply

