Sacrifice

I chose this shot as my first post because I really loved the power behind it. When I was in the cemetery, it actually took my breath away the moment I saw it: a single red rose resting atop the grave marker of an unknown soldier. I found myself wondering about him. Who was he? A Son? A Brother? A Husband? A Father?

As a military daughter, and now a military wife, this really stuck with me in a way that I was not entirely prepared for. So many men and women have laid down their lives, paid their sacrifice so that we can live the way we do now. I wanted to commemorate the beauty of their lives, and what they gave up.

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel T4i

Lens: 18-135 mm IS STM

Date: January 2013

Location: Andersonville National Cemetery, Georgia

IMG_0409

“Death is nothing, but to live defeated and inglorious is to die daily.” -Napoleon Bonaparte

Leave a Reply

